Skip to content

Yu Suzuki talks about how Shenmue changed the Gaming World

December 8, 2010

Well we have seen more Shenmue-related posts in 2010 than in the last 5 years or so, we had Ryo Hazuki return in glorious HD on a racing game and if that’s not enough 1up.com is having a crazy cool Shenmue week and they have included a major Yu Suzuki interview who tells all about his early history and we got this epic quote:

JM: (…)I want to talk about Shenmue. In hindsight, we can see how much it has influenced the industry, perhaps more than any of your other games. Not only did it lay the groundwork for Sega’s own Ryu ga Gotoku, but also Grand Theft Auto, or any game where there’s a big environment with tons of things to interact with, which we now call a sandbox game. Hang-On was about riding motorcycles. After Burner was about piloting planes. Shenmue was about doing everything. Now, many of today’s games continue to expand on this formula. What do you think about that?

YS: I think it’s a good thing and I’m very happy. Since I entered Sega in ’83 I made Taikan games and that became a trend or shift in the industry. That was my first influence. The second one was the shift from 2D to 3D graphics. I think my influence was pretty significant then. After that, I think it was Shenmue. Shenmue changed Final Fantasy and many other games. So, although there’s only 40 years of gaming history, I feel that the things that I have done have shifted the industry as a whole. It’s a testament of my work and I’m glad that I’ve been able to produce games that have had a big impact on the industry.

Source: 1up.com

My brain just orgasmed while reading this…I need a cigar.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

