Skip to content

WTF: Sonic the Hedgehog had enviromental themes!?

October 15, 2010

In one of the most bizzare Sonic-related stories we bring you today, it appears Naka-san had an interesting concept what’s behind the meaning of Sonic and Eggman’s clash:

“Dr Robotnik is a slightly radical representation of all humanity and the impact humanity is having on nature. In 1991, it was a very sensitive subject to talk about the environment and while I had my viewpoint, I did not speak of it. With Sonic, I was given an opportunity to express my views in a different way and did so, showing Robotnik using pollution and creating machinery which desecrates the environment and it is down to Sonic to change his ways.”

Source: Sonic Stadium

It seems strange for Naka to say something like this, with him being a huge race car fan and all, I think Sonic’s origins are more clearly defined in this article.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tailsthehedgehog permalink
    October 15, 2010 12:20 pm

    No. I’ll have to disagree – Sonic has a lot to do with the enivironment, and this is seen especially in the old 90’s television renditions. Even i nthe game, Robotnik pollutes planet, and transforms it into one of cold, hard science, no little fluffy animals and all petrol and robots etc. And he’s got the villain role. Sonic on the other glove, had the hero role and he was fighting for freedom of those little fluffy animals, ergo, he’s fighting for things to be the way they naturally were. Science that didn’t coexist with the natural environment was always asssocciated with evil. It’s subtle, but easy to see if you get the right angle.

  2. maxcady128 permalink
    October 15, 2010 12:44 pm

    I was thinking about that too.

    The early 1993 cartoon tackled some enviromental issues and such, but even so, I don’t think Yuji Naka had that much input on that particular TV show, even if he had an opinion on the matter at the time.

    I think Sega of America’s management in those days, had a bigger hand in the Sonic franchise in the States.

    But then again, that wasn’t something completely new or groundbreaking at the time, I remember back in the days when Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles used to have enviromental friendly shorts after every episode, and that was way before Sonic.

  3. tailsthehedgehog permalink
    October 15, 2010 1:01 pm

    Being fair, I was bawling my eyes out with and screaming past my toothless gums in a cot because Mum hadn’t said goodnight to my purple teddy bear in 1993, so I haven’t got as firmer grasp on the context.
    I think SEGA Japan probably planted those seeds of environmental awareness in the retro games, but America being the country of glowing ideals and needing to ram them down their childrens throats probably put more emphasis on it.

Leave a Reply

